Hardcore Taylor Swift? Thanks I Prevail

I Prevail sounds like the kind of band you listen to when no one’s around. They scratch all of my Linkin Park itches without the shame of actually listening to Linkin Park. In what I’d say is one of the best marketing plans ever the band did a hardcore cover of Taylor Swift’s Blank Space which manages to make every version of my seventeen year old self super pleased. Truth be told I do really love Taylor and Blank Spaces to me is a nice little musical equivalent of Gone Girl, so having some scruffy rocker dudes scream lyrics like “Darling I’m a nightmare dressed like a daydream” just makes me delightfully giggly. If you want to think to hard about gender presentation I did find it interesting how changing the gender of the singer can change the feeling behind the song. We aren’t used to women owning their crazy in the same way that we are used to men owning their damage. It’s a wonderful thought experiment as well as just fun to listen too. The fact that lead singer Brian Burkheiser is both easy on the eyes and a fucking good singer doesn’t hurt any. Here’s hoping the band gets more than a brief blip of attention.

Leave a Reply

