WIR: Jessica Jones: Alias Vol 1

26210380

Why yes I have jumped on the Jessica Jones bandwagon and as I was lucky enough to get a copy of this for christmas I just had to devour it in basically one go.

If you’re looking for a comic script of the TV show you’re not going to find it here, at least not in this volume. Jessica is less of a drunken mess in this and there’s hints of something that made her give up superheroing but it’s not mentioned yet. Her interactions with Luke Cage and Carol Danvers where what I liked the best because it shows how even when you have people in your life they can still fail you when you need them. When Jessica is really up against the wall you feel her isolation and I find that to be rare in comics. The sex scene with Luke was also one of the most uncomfortable things I’ve read in a while. If you want to think about power dynamics and the grey areas of sex this is scene that will make you stop and think about who wants what and who’s using who in this exchange. I know the future of the couple so I’m really looking forward to how they get there.

DareDevil shows up as his day job self which I thought was great. The art kind of sucked in my opinion but the writing made up for it. I also love the jokes about AntMan. Overall I enjoyed Bendis take on the Marvel Universe and I’m sure that as soon as I have money again I’ll be picking up vol 2.

I’m behind on these posts so upcoming we have The Upanishads, The New York Trilogy and Macbeth#Killingit and DareDevil Vol 1

The rest of my currently reading pile goes like this:

The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes

Dark Wild Night by Christina Lauren

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

 

4 down 96 more to go.

One thought on “WIR: Jessica Jones: Alias Vol 1

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them because they are all equally great.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful. I am so happy I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

